Study Team

Overview

The research team is comprised of clinicians experienced in gallbladder and general surgery, as well as experts in radiology (imaging).

This clinical expertise is complemented by the research expertise of an established Clinical Trials Unit, CTEU Bristol, alongside experts in study methods, study recruitment, statistics, health economics and outcome assessment. The research group has strong patient and public involvement, and excellent links with experts in the field within the UK and internationally.

The study is formally supported by the Association of Upper Gastrointestinal Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland (AUGIS) and the Great Britain & Ireland Hepato Pancreato Biliary Association (GBIHPBA).

Team

Professor Giles Toogood

Chief Investigator, Consultant Surgeon, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

giles.toogood@nhs.net

 Professor Jane Blazeby

Professor of Surgery, Consultant Surgeon, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

j.m.blazeby@bristol.ac.uk

Mr Ravinder Vohra

Consultant Surgeon, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

ravsvohra@hotmail.com

Mr Neil Jennings

Consultant Surgeon, City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

neil.jennings@chsft.nhs.uk

Mr Ian Beckingham

Consultant Surgeon, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

ian.beckingham@mac.com

Mr Ewen Griffiths

Consultant Surgeon, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Ewen.Griffiths@uhb.nhs.uk

 

Dr Ashley Guthrie

Consultant Clinical Radiologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

ashley.guthrie@nhs.net

Dr Raneem Albazaz

Consultant Radiologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

r.albazaz@nhs.net

Dr Marcus Jepson

Lecturer in Qualitative Health Science, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

marcus.jepson@bris.ac.uk

Dr Kerry Avery

Senior Research Fellow and PPI Lead, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

kerry.avery@bris.ac.uk

Professor William Hollingsworth

Professor of Health Economics, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

william.hollingworth@bristol.ac.uk

Miss Natalie Blencowe

Oral and Gastrointestinal Surgeon, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

natalie.blencowe@bristol.ac.uk

 

Stephen Palmer

Study Manager, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

sunflower-study@bristol.ac.uk

Professor Chris Rogers

Co-Director of the Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

chris.rogers@bristol.ac.uk

Professor Barney Reeves

Co-Director of the Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

barney.reeves@bristol.ac.uk

Dr Lucy Culliford

Research Fellow, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

lucy.culliford@bristol.ac.uk

Jane Collingwood

Senior Administrator, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

jane.collingwood@bristol.ac.uk

Bryony Robinson

Assistant Coordinator, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

sunflower-study@bristol.ac.uk